Past Event

SOAS UNISON Branch Annual General Meeting 2019

4 March 2019, 12:30 pm
SWLT (First Floor, Paul Webley Wing/Senate House North Block)

Draft agenda for the SOAS UNISON Branch Annual General Meeting on Monday 4th March 2019, 12.30pm – 2.00pm to be held in the SWLT.

(Please note there will be a parallel AGM for early morning staff at 7am on Monday 4th March 2019 in the KLT).

SOAS UNISON strongly urges every member to attend the meeting and to invite along any non-members you think may be interested in joining UNISON.

The Human Resources department have been informed of this meeting and we have asked them to contact line managers to ensure staff are given the time off in order to attend.

As the AGM lasts an extra half hour to allow us to conduct the elections, a sandwich lunch and soft drinks will be provided ahead of the meeting so please aim to be there for approximately 12.15pm.

If you would like to submit a motion to the AGM or suggest an additional item for the agenda please forward these to Sandy Nicoll, SOAS UNISON Branch Secretary by Friday 1st March 2019 at the latest in order to allow these to be circulated ahead of the meeting.

SOAS UNISON would also ask members to seriously consider standing for positions on the Branch Exec as ensuring we have a full complement of Branch Officers not only makes the Branch more effective but spreads the weight of the important work that needs to be done.

SOAS UNISON Branch AGM Draft Agenda:

Monday 4 March 2019 from 12.30pm – 2.00pm to be held in the SWLT (First Floor, Paul Webley Wing)

Minutes from 2018 AGM

Matters Arising

Branch Officers Reports

Update on OPS Restructuring

Update on the 2019 Pay Campaign

Election of Branch Officers and Conference Delegates





Nominations are invited for all posts on the Branch Executive Committee and related Committees. We also require nominations for anyone wishing to stand as Branch Delegate to UNISON’s National Conference (This year it takes place from Tuesday 18 to Friday 21 June, 2019 in Liverpool. Delegates are entitled to paid time off to attend and the branch will cover all required expenses).

All nominations need to be seconded by another member. Please ensure that if you are nominating someone, they have agreed to stand for the position.

Please send all nominations to Sandy Nicoll at

Nominations should include the following details:

– Name of person and position being nominated

– Name of proposer

– Name of seconder

Current post holders need to stand for re-election if they so wish and are required to follow the same procedure as above. Nominations will be accepted right up to Friday, 1 March 2019. Nominations will be accepted from the floor of the meeting only for posts left unfilled.

Below is a list of the posts for Branch Officers and delegates to be elected and the name of the current post holder (for information).


Executive Committee


Chair                                                 Maxine Brown

Secretary                                          Sandy Nicoll

Treasurer                                           Peter Baran

Admin Steward*                                 Vacant

Library Steward*                                Val Siama

Library Steward*                                 Vacant

SHNB Steward                                   Graham Smith/ Tom Drucker (Job Share)

Membership Steward – Admin            Wilbur Moser

Health & Safety Steward – Admin       Jahan Latif

Health & Safety Steward – Library       Kobir Ahmed

Equal and Diversity Officer                 Juliet Ssentongo/ Nita Haines (job share)

Black Members Officer                       Antonia Bright

Youth Officer                                       Beth Oliver

Disabilities Officer                               Anisa Zina

Training and Publicity Officer              Ed Hood

Environmental Officer                         Renata Albuquerque

Lifelong Learning Rep                         Renata Albuquerque

Maintenance Staff Rep* – Luis Ojeda
Early Morning Cleaning Staff Rep* – Consuelo Moreno
Early Morning Cleaning Staff Rep* – Monserrat Ingidua
Daytime Portering and Cleaning Staff Rep* – Lenin Escudero
Daytime Portering and Cleaning Staff Rep* – William Palacio
Security Staff Rep* – Isaac Apau
Security Staff Rep* – George Adu-Mensah
Catering Staff Rep* – Luis Carlos Valencia

Joint Negotiating and Consultative Committee

Branch Secretary                            Sandy Nicoll

Branch Chair                                   Maxine Brown

Position to be elected at AGM        Vacant

Reserve Representative                 Val Siama


Higher Education Service Group Committee Representatives (and Regional Council Reps)

General Seat                                  Sandy Nicoll

Women’s Seat                                Antonia Bright

UNISON National Delegate Conference (Shared Delegate) – June 2019

General Seat                                  Sandy Nicoll

Women’s Seat                                Antonia Bright


SOAS UNISON Branch Auditors

Auditor                                           Lisa McSweeney

Auditor                                           Carol Miles


If you have any queries about any of the information above, please feel free to contact Sandy Nicoll or any member of the branch executive.

* Please note that the details of the Bouygues and Elior Reps are given for information only as these positions are elected directly by the relevant section.